MLS Dominance and Global Ambitions: Assessing the Field for the 2024 Concacaf Champions Cup

A Look at the Powerhouses and Dark Horses Set to Clash in North America's Premier Soccer Tournament
CONCACAF Champions League - Final - Leg 2: Pumas UNAM v Seattle Sounders FC
CONCACAF Champions League - Final - Leg 2: Pumas UNAM v Seattle Sounders FC / Steph Chambers/GettyImages

Soccer in North, Central, and the Caribbean is about to witness a display of excellence with the unveiling of the teams qualified for the 2024 Concacaf Champions Cup. With a significant contingent of ten Major League Soccer (MLS) clubs, the competition promises to showcase the league's growing dominance in regional and international scenarios.

The Columbus Crew, as the holder of the 2023 MLS Cup title, emerges as one of the favorites, carrying the responsibility of representing the United States. Meanwhile, FC Cincinnati, winner of the MLS Supporters' Shield, and Houston Dynamo FC, who clinched the US Open Cup, are forces to be reckoned with, adding an extra dose of competitiveness to the mix.

Follow MLS Multiplex on X (Twitter).

The tournament is not just a stage for MLS teams to shine; it also features challenges from other notable regions. Mexican teams like Chivas de Guadalajara and Tigres UANL, accustomed to success in continental competitions, join the battle, highlighting the historical rivalry between MLS and Liga MX.

However, the inclusion of clubs like Forge FC from Canada, Alajuelense from Costa Rica, and Robinhood from Suriname demonstrates the diversity and growing quality of soccer outside the traditional centers of the sport. These teams aim to challenge expectations and make history by raising the level of competition.

The impending expansion of the FIFA Club World Cup in 2025 adds a global dimension to the Concacaf Champions Cup. The winner of this edition will join Tigres UANL, Seattle Sounders FC, and Club León in representing the region in a prestigious international competition.

It remains to be seen whether MLS representatives will consolidate their dominance or if exciting surprises will come from less heralded teams. One thing is certain: the stage is set for an epic tournament, where fervent rivalries and new narratives will unfold, captivating fans and raising the standard of soccer in Concacaf.

Tigres UANL v Monterrey - CONCACAF CHampions League 2019
Tigres UANL v Monterrey - CONCACAF CHampions League 2019 / Azael Rodriguez/GettyImages

Teams qualified for the 2024 Concacaf Champions Cup:

Mexico: Chivas de Guadalajara, CF Monterrey, Club América, Pachuca, Tigres UANL, Toluca

Canada: Cavalry FC, Forge FC

Costa Rica: Alajuelense, Herediano, Saprissa

Dominican Republic: Moca

Guatemala: Comunicaciones

Jamaica: Cavalier

Nicaragua: Real Estelí

Panama: Independiente

Suriname: Robinhood

USA: FC Cincinnati, Columbus Crew, Houston Dynamo FC, Inter Miami CF, Nashville SC, New England Revolution, Orlando City SC, Philadelphia Union, St. Louis CITY SC, Vancouver Whitecaps FC