Concacaf W Champions Cup 2024/25 set to crown North America's top Women's club team

Eleven teams will compete for the title of women's club champion in North America, Central America and the Caribbean
NJ/NY Gotham is one of the participating teams
NJ/NY Gotham is one of the participating teams / Karen Hickey/ISI Photos/GettyImages

The Concacaf W Champions Cup 2024/25 is ready to crown one of the 11 teams as the women's club champion of North America, Central America, and the Caribbean. This new annual tournament promises to elevate women's soccer in the region, bringing together the best clubs for a competition that celebrates excellence and passion for the sport.

Last vacancy for classification

Alianza FC from El Salvador secured the final spot by winning the Liga Primera Femenina 2023/24 playoff. They will face the Vancouver Whitecaps in the preliminary round. The winner will advance to the group stage, where the challenges will increase, and every match will be crucial in the quest for the title.

Follow MLS Multiplex on X (Twitter).

Draw and achedule

The official draw will take place on Thursday, June 6, outlining the path each team must take to reach the final stage, scheduled for May 2025. The preliminary round will begin in August, followed by the group stage in October.

Teams in the Competition

Canada: Vancouver Whitecaps

The Whitecaps qualified by winning the 2023 League1 Women’s Inter-Provincial Championship. The Blue and White feature talented players such as 19-year-old defender Mya Archibald and 17-year-old forward Jaime Perrault. The Canadian team relies on a mix of youth and experience to advance through the stages.

Costa Rica: Alajuelense

Alajuelense, champions of the 2023 Super Copa Unión Femenina de Fútbol, boasts stars like Fabíola Villalobos and Sheika Scott, who helped Costa Rica reach the quarter-finals of the 2024 Concacaf W Gold Cup.

El Salvador: Alianza FC

Alianza FC is the most successful team in Salvadoran women's soccer history, with eight league titles. Notable players like Priscila Ortiz and Irma Hernández are expected to make a significant impact in the competition.

Jamaica: Chicote Frazsiers Feminino

The 2022/23 Jamaica Women’s Premier League champions, led by Janeil Mignott and Shaneil Buckley, represent the Caribbean with a squad that blends young prospects and established talents.

Mexico: Tigres UANL, Club América, and Rayadas

Mexico is represented by three women's soccer powerhouses: Tigres UANL, featuring multi-champion Jenni Hermoso and talented Jacqueline Ovalle; Club América, with defender Karen Luna and top scorer Katty Martínez; Rayadas, led by captain Rebeca Bernal and bolstered by international talents like Juana Plata and Ana Lucía Martínez.

Panama: Santa Fé

Santa Fé, champions of the 2024 Liga de Fútbol Femenino, includes goalkeeper Yenith Bailey and midfielders Schiandra Gonzalez and Sherline King, ready to shine in the competition.

United States: NJ/NY Gotham, San Diego Wave and Portland Thorns

The USA is represented by three NWSL clubs: NJ/NY Gotham, the 2023 NWSL champions, featuring stars like Esther González and Crystal Dunn; San Diego Wave, 2023 NWSL Shield champions, led by Alex Morgan and Jaedyn Shaw; and Portland Thorns, with a star-studded lineup including Sophia Smith and Olivia Moultrie.

Follow MLS Multiplex on Facebook.


With less than two months until the preliminary round begins, expectations are high. Each team brings a unique combination of talent, experience, and ambition. The Concacaf W Champions Cup promises not only to crown the region's women's club champion but also to highlight the growth and evolution of women's soccer in North America, Central America, and the Caribbean.

While some teams may stand out more than others, this competition is crucial for their development, as they seek to renew their rosters and achieve greater heights in the tournament.