CONCACAF Gold Cup Preliminary Rosters Announced


On Wednesday, Major League Soccer’s official website,, listed a total of 63 players from the league who have been named to their country’s preliminary CONCACAF Gold Cup roster. However, that number may dramatically decrease in the coming weeks.

Each nation named 35 players who could potentially be playing for them during the continent’s most prestigious international tournament this summer, but squad sizes are capped at 23. This means that in the coming days and weeks, coaches will be forced to make some difficult decisions as they must cut another 12 players.

It is no surprise that Canada and the United States are the countries with the most MLS players on their preliminary rosters, with the former having 14 players in the league and the latter boasting 20 players currently in MLS.

Toronto FC, the Houston Dynamo, and FC Dallas, are the clubs most affected by the Gold Cup as of now, with six players on each team making preliminary rosters. Real Salt Lake, the Vancouver Whitecaps, and Sporting KC, are also likely to be shorthanded during the summer tournament as all three of them could have as many as five players representing their country this summer.

Here is the complete list of all 63 MLS players who have been called to their nation’s preliminary Gold Cup roster.


Chicago Fire (1): Joevin Jones (Trinidad & Tobago)

Colorado Rapids (1): Gabriel Torres (Panama)

Columbus Crew SC (1): Waylon Francis (Costa Rica)

D.C. United (3): Bill Hamid (USA), Perry Kitchen (USA), Michael Seaton (Jamaica)

FC Dallas (6): Tesho Akindele (Canada), Kyle Bekker (Canada), Rolando Escobar (Panama), Moises Hernandez (Guatemala), Blas Perez (Panama), Je-Vaughn Watson (Jamaica)

Houston Dynamo (6): Brad Davis (USA), Giles Barnes (Jamaica), DaMarcus Beasley (USA), Oscar Boniek Garcia (Honduras), Luis Garrido (Honduras), Jermaine Taylor (Jamaica)

LA Galaxy (4): Omar Gonzalez (USA), Alan Gordon (USA), Jaime Penedo (Panama), Gyasi Zardes (USA)

Montreal Impact (1): Maxim Tissot (Canada)

New England Revolution (2): Juan Agudelo (USA), Lee Nguyen (USA)

New York City FC (1): Mix Diskerud (USA)

New York Red Bulls (4): Andrew Jean Baptiste (Haiti), Kemar Lawrence (Jamaica), Roy Miller (Costa Rica), Karl Ouimette (Canada)

Orlando City (4): Darwin Ceren (El Salvador), Cyle Larin (Canada), Bryan Rochez (Honduras), Brek Shea (USA)

Philadelphia Union (1): Andre Blake (Jamaica)

Portland Timbers (2): Will Johnson (Canada), Alvas Powell (Jamaica)

Real Salt Lake (5): Kyle Beckerman (USA), Demar Phillips (Jamaica), Nick Rimando (USA), Alvaro Saborio (Costa Rica), Elias Vasquez (Guatemala)

San Jose Earthquakes (2): Cordell Cato (Trinidad & Tobago), Chris Wondolowski (USA)

Seattle Sounders (3): Clint Dempsey (USA), Brad Evans (USA), Marco Pappa (Guatemala)

Sporting Kansas City (5): Matt Besler (USA), Marcel de Jong (Canada), Rogers Espinoza (Honduras), Soni Mustivar (Haiti), Graham Zusi (USA)

Toronto FC (6): Jozy Altidore (USA), Michael Bradley (USA), Jordan Hamilton (Canada), Ashtone Morgan (Canada), Jonathan Osorio (Canada), Quillan Roberts (Canada)

Vancouver Whitecaps (5): Sam Adekugbe (Canada), Kianz Froese (Canada), Darren Mattocks (Jamaica), Russell Teibert (Canada), Kendall Waston (Costa Rica)


CANADA (14 players): Tesho Akindele (FC Dallas), Sam Adekugbe (Vancouver Whitecaps), Kyle Bekker (FC Dallas), Marcel de Jong (Sporting Kansas City), Kianz Froese (Vancouver Whitecaps), Jordan Hamilton (Toronto FC), Will Johnson (Portland Timbers), Cyle Larin (Orlando City SC), Ashtone Morgan (Toronto FC), Jonathan Osorio (Toronto FC), Karl Ouimette (New York Red Bulls), Quillan Roberts (Toronto FC), Russell Teibert (Vancouver Whitecaps), Maxim Tissot (Montreal Impact)

COSTA RICA (4 players): Waylon Francis (Columbus Crew SC), Roy Miller (New York Red Bulls), Alvaro Saborio (Real Salt Lake), Kendall Waston (Vancouver Whitecaps)

EL SALVADOR (1 player): Darwin Ceren (Orlando City SC)

HAITI (2 players): Andrew Jean Baptiste (New York Red Bulls), Soni Mustivar (Sporting Kansas City)

HONDURAS (4 players): Oscar Boniek Garcia (Houston Dynamo), Roger Espinoza (Sporting Kansas City), Luis Garrido (Houston Dynamo), Bryan Rochez (Orlando City SC)

GUATEMALA (3 players): Moises Hernandez (FC Dallas), Marco Pappa (Seattle Sounders), Elias Vasquez (Real Salt Lake)

JAMAICA (9 players): Giles Barnes (Houston Dynamo), Andre Blake (Philadelphia Union), Kemar Lawrence (New York Red Bulls), Darren Mattocks (Vancouver Whitecaps), Demar Phillips (Real Salt Lake), Alvas Powell (Portland Timbers), Michael Seaton (DC United – on loan to Orebro), Jermaine Taylor (Houston Dynamo), Je-Vaughn Watson (FC Dallas)

PANAMA (4 players): Rolando Escobar (FC Dallas), Jaime Penedo (LA Galaxy), Blas Perez (FC Dallas), Gabriel Torres (Colorado Rapids)

TRINIDAD & TOBAGO (2 players): Cordell Cato (San Jose Earthquakes), Joevin Jones (Chicago Fire)

USA (20 players): Juan Agudelo (New England Revolution), Jozy Altidore (Toronto FC), DaMarcus Beasley (Houston Dynamo), Kyle Beckerman (Real Salt Lake), Matt Besler (Sporting Kansas City), Michael Bradley (Toronto FC), Brad Davis (Houston Dynamo), Clint Dempsey (Seattle Sounders), Mix Diskerud (New York City FC), Brad Evans (Seattle Sounders), Omar Gonzalez (LA Galaxy), Alan Gordon (LA Galaxy), Bill Hamid (D.C. United), Perry Kitchen (D.C. United), Lee Nguyen (New England Revolution), Nick Rimando (Real Salt Lake), Brek Shea (Orlando City SC), Chris Wondolowski (San Jose Earthquakes), Gyasi Zardes (LA Galaxy), Graham Zusi (Sporting Kansas City)